Internship Spotlight: White Coat Wealth Advisors

By: Chelsey Daly, U of M Student

Last summer, I had the opportunity to intern at a company called White Coat Wealth Advisors. During my internship, I had the opportunity to communicate with clients regarding new applications and other service related issues, and prepare proposals and other materials as directed for client meetings. I also created and managed the White Coat LinkedIn page, including connections, content and postings, and I generated monthly FIO mailers and email campaigns.

At the beginning of my internship, I was very excited for what was to come. I wanted to learn the “ins and outs” of the company, while also learning more about what it took to be a valuable member of a team. I was able to accomplish that by meeting with my bosses every week to discuss effective ways to reach their market, which includes residents and fellows from the University of Minnesota. Using the knowledge I gained from Professor Swenson’s course last semester, I created a marketing timeline for the company and showed them how it could help them increase contacts by being active on social media. I was also able to demonstrate different ways to reach their target market without bombarding them with too much information at once.

Throughout this internship, I was able to learn a lot about the financial services industry. I also got to learn more about myself as an individual and what my ideal work environment and career path could be. I appreciated the ability to make professional connections, gain communication skills, and learn that it is always important to stick up for your ideas because you never know when one of them could be successful!

Chelsey Daly

Leave a Reply

