Internship Spotlight: CFANS Office of International Programs

By: Deanna Kanne, U of M Senior

This summer, I was an intern in the CFANS Office of International Programs. I worked on social media, designed promotional materials, and did some event planning. I was busy all summer, mainly preparing for the Study Abroad Fair in September.

It was a great learning experience that even led into a semester job!

During this internship, I was able to put my classroom skills to the test. I have taken many different communication and journalism classes in both CFANS and the School of Journalism; however, this was my first experience using these skills in the real world. The internship reinforced that this is what I want to do for my professional life.

As I mentioned before, I learned a lot about different types of communication. I used Facebook and Twitter, and learned how to post with the tone of the organization. Using PhotoShop and InDesign, I created all of the promotional materials for the CFANS study abroad programs. This was a great learning experience for me, as I had never used either of these design programs before.

Working in the CFANS Office of International Programs was a great way to learn what I wanted to do as a career, and it taught me great life skills that I will need in the future.

deanna-kanne-photo

Leave a Reply

