Ag Ed Profiles: Cassandra Peterson

Cassandra Peterson

Recruiter and Academic Advisor

Cassie Peterson

Office:  146G Ruttan Hall

Email:  clpeters@umn.edu

Education

2009 – B.A.  in English with an emphasis in Writing and British Literature from the University of Minnesota

Background

I received my B.A. in English from the University of Minnesota in 2009, and while I had every intention of initially becoming a high school English teacher, I became increasingly involved with Agricultural Education toward the latter half of my Undergraduate career.  It was during my final year of study that I decided to pursue a career in Agriculture, and dove head first into all that this field has to offer!

Upon graduation, I stayed active in Ag Ed by becoming an Assistant Advisor to the Red Wing FFA chapter, and worked for Minnesota 4-H at the Minnesota State Fair.  I’m very excited to bring my skills as a recruiter to the Ag Ed department because I am extremely passionate about the role this person can play in the lives of students!  If someone had not given me the chance to explore Agricultural Education, I would not be in the position I am in today!

While I was a student at the University, I was involved with Gamma Phi Beta sorority, Ag Ed Club, Office of Admissions campus tours, Housing & Residential Life, Gopher Sports Marketing, and had the opportunity to study abroad in London, England.  I loved to volunteer with my sorority, had season tickets to Gopher Football and Hockey, as well as attended numerous basketball, volleyball games and wrestling matches.

Interests

I love working with and getting to know students.  I believe that taking the time to get to know what drives students and learning about what they want to be when they “grow-up” is how we can best help them achieve their goals.  The faculty and staff within Ag Ed and CFANS are highly committed to student success, and I love to share that passion with students each and every day.

I enjoy teaching and studying martial arts, running, playing with puppies, and drinking Starbucks.  I participated in the Warrior Dash in 2012, and am now working toward my goal of running a half-marathon!

I also want to travel to South America, Asia and Australia after being to Europe twice (but I wouldn’t mind going back to Europe).

Ask Me About…

  • How an English major found her love for Agricultural Education
  • How YOU can be a part of Agricultural Education at the U of M!
  • My travels across Europe, including my study abroad experience in London, England
  • Martial arts and mixed martial arts.  My dad owns a gym!  🙂
Leave a Reply

