Day One: First Flights and Wrong Turns

Day One Adventures

by:  Maddie Oskey

balcony

We were all ready to get out of the Minnesota cold and experience the warm weather of New Orleans.  For many of us it was out first time flying, so there were many emotions flying around as we all arrived at the airport.  It was great that we all made it through security without any problems.

Then we all chilled out playing on the ipads that the airport had provided for entertainment.  Next it was time to board the plane, with most of us sitting relatively close to each other.  We were finally all set to go and then we got delayed when they had to anit-freeze the plane.  After the anti-freeze we hit the air and were on our way to New Orleans.  There were no problems while in flight and the snacks turned out to be very delicious.

The most interesting part of the day was when we all headed off to our hotel in five different vehicles.  Let’s just say some of us made it in 15 minutes and the rest of us took almost four times as long and almost made it to Baton Rouge.  It was an eventful first day, and a great one at that.

First Flight

by:  Jacob Orren

Hi, my name is Jacob Orren I’m a freshman at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities studying Agriculture Education. We got off the plane at about 10:15 P.M. This was the first time that I have flown on a plane. I have heard many rumors about how it’s so scary and for all those people that have told me that they are not right. Flying is a breeze; it’s more of a thrill than it is anything else. I felt relaxed after coming off the airplane. Either people have had bad experiences on their flights or the pilot did an awesome job taking off and landing, either way I had a blast and want to fly again really soon.

The one thing that I didn’t realize is how good the airplane cookies were the greatest thing in the world. I was very scared at first being that they were dry and stale but I was wrong. They were very good. I also had a chance to have some Fresca and I haven’t had Fresca in over a year. I was very happy that I got a chance to get some Fresca. Sitting at on the plane I thought that there was plenty of room. Many people thought that I wouldn’t like it. I thought that there had plenty of space, granted I had an aisle seat I had plenty of room to stretch my legs out.

Overall I was very happy and excited to see what adventures and things that Louisiana has to offer. Tomorrow we are going to an airboat tour and then we have the rest of the afternoon to do a little sight-seeing.

That’s all for now
Jacob Orren

First Day Recap

by:  Lisa Roker

On Friday evening, 28 Agriculture Education Club members and our 2 advisers, arrived at the airport.  The weather was a mix of rain and snow, and the temperature was in the 20’s.  Everyone was excited to depart for New Orleans.  We went through security without problems, and no one was detained or marked as a security risk.  We found our gate and waited to board our plane.  Our flight was called and we settled into our seats.  Our flight had a brief delay, as our plane had to be de-iced.  It took about 20 minutes for the plane to be ready for take off.  We had an excellent flight that was just over two hours.

We landed in New Orleans just after 10pm.  All of us were absolutely ecstatic when we found that the temperature was in the high 60’s.  We claimed our luggage and went to get our rental vehicles.  We will be traveling around Louisiana in five vans. Each driver selected a name for their vans, which included, Mamasita, Maverick, Convoy, Voodoo Vector, and the Ragin’ Cajun.  We are all looking forward to the adventures to come in the next five days.

Read more adventures…

Leave a Reply

