Student Profiles: Stephanie Kasper

Stephanie Kasper (Owatonna, MN) Stephanie Kasper

Agricultural Education – Leadership & Communications

Mass Communication minor

Background & Interests

I grew up on my family Dairy Farm, was a Dairy Princess for my senior year of high school and freshman year of college. I went onto become a Princess Kay of the Milky Way Finalist in 2011, which was an amazing experience. Any experience in which I can share my passion for dairy on a large scale is something that makes me very excited! I have created a farm blog to share with the public the joys and challenges faced everyday on a family farm. I am aspiring to have a career in communications and or marketing upon graduation.

I am interested in and enjoy: showing cows, feeding calves, photography, crafts, writing, creating advertisements or communication pieces, interior design, movies and spending time with my friends and family.

Why did you choose Agricultural Education?

I chose Ag Ed because it is a major that is diverse enough to really make it your own in any way. I backed up my major with a minor in Mass Communications as I believe that will be very beneficial in my future career. I am definitely looking forward to becoming a part of the ‘work world’ and sharing my creativity, joy and passion for agriculture with others. Ag Ed is what allowed me to have this positive futuristic outlook on my life. Ag Ed is the perfect major for students who maybe haven’t declared exactly their career path and are looking to hone in on major skills that ag professionals utilize. I love that the Ag Ed program doesn’t focus specifically on one part of skill and knowledge building and that our classes utilize different approaches to assignments and classwork.

My Advice for Students…

“Do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life,” is a quote my mom has said since my siblings and I were very little. It has proven to be so true; I view it as taking my passion and running with it.  This is exactly what I did as I chose the U and chose the Ag Ed program.

Ask Me About… 

  • Dairy
  • Studying abroad
  • Agriculture
  • Professional Resume building
  • Career/ Internship advice

See more Student Profiles

 

2 thoughts on “Student Profiles: Stephanie Kasper

  1. Pingback: Ag Ed Students Receive National Dairy Promotion and Research Board Scholarship | UMN Agricultural Education

  2. Pingback: UMN Student NAMA Wins First Place At National Conference | UMN Agricultural Education

Leave a Reply

